top of page

The country is ok.

From a Melbourne distance, I use to see Malaysia from the perspective of the lurid headlines and selected stories highlighted by vested interests on social media, whose focus is to destabilize our nation's equilibrium.


Now that I have been back for two weeks, I see things differently.Yes the politicians at at loggerheads with one another. The coming State elections occupies the mind of our PMX, among others. Are they or are they not on the same side as the components of the unity government seems to be pulling asunder what the Yang di Pertuan Agong has put together only months ago.


JUST WHAT IS HAPPENING IN MALAYSIA?


Nothing much to worry anybody really. The grab drivers that I spoke, the friends and acquaintances I have had the pleasure of reconnecting and meeting with, are more interested in what I think of the food and company I was in, the crowds on weekends in the Malls are horrendous and what everyone I met wants to know is when will something be down about the traffic jams everywhere around us. Life goes on regardless and your heart goes out to those who have to brave the elements and push themselves to the limits of their endurance - those who deliver foods whizzing here and there risking life and limb, to earn sustenance. I remember a young school girl, probably not even into her teens...selling potato chips...walking around the tables at Hameedia where I was having dinner : rice, fried chicken and Dhall...and as usual we waved her away. And she did but I saw her coming back towards me as she walked towards the door having not do any sales...and my heart saw her for what she really was... a lttle girl barely ten trying to make some money for her family at 11pm at night in a restaurant with so many delicious food on display. I call her over...asked how much per packet...she said $5 and took all four that were in her hands. And for that she said a doa for me. That made my day. Yes I have not yet opened any of the packets. Not my idea of healthy food.


And then there was this Grab lady driver who took me from Ampang to KGLCC and charged me RM10. I say why only RM10...and she mumbled something about not getting her fare right when she picked me up and said its ok. It was her fault. I gave her Rm$20 and then I gave her another extra RM10 - RM$30 in total, which I still think was a cheap ride for me.


This is Malaysia in perpetual motion. Alive. Well and thriving but everyone has to fight hard to earn a decent living.Please PMX, make their lives a bit less of a battle ground where no prisoner are taken, and please PMX let their lives be more hopeful, decent and allow them some dignity to enable them to understand that while life is a struggle, there is dignity in that struggle.


Politics is furthest from their mind...just take care of them and come elections, they will be there for you and with you. I know you already know this but a gentle reminder now and then between State visits and signings of MOU, about the plight of many Malaysians battling to survive, should be taken in the spirit it is given....we want you to do the right things and stay there as the PMX we needed and wanted to make Malaysia great again.


Do good. Be good and be nice to one another.







1,061 views5 comments

Related Posts

See All

5 comentarios


Harmandar Singh
Harmandar Singh
14 may 2023

This is a very sensible article, well done. I also feel PMX has to stay on track and everything will care of itself. We just recorded 5.6% growth in Q1. Things are working, keep the faith. Distraction is the father of chaos. This is the sort of narrative all Malaysians seek to keep them going. Keep up the great writing sir.

Me gusta

J AW
J AW
14 may 2023

There’s always a negative perception when you read news from afar especially troubling news to the extent my son prefers to stay and work in UK.

He is afraid of the Talibanization of Msia....

Me gusta

dr kamsiah
dr kamsiah
13 may 2023

Welcome to Malaysia. As humans, we tend to have our own unique perspectives and biases based on our personal experiences, beliefs, and values. When we look at a situation or problem, we often view it through our own "lenses," which can sometimes result in a narrow or limited understanding of the issue.

Me gusta

vspl
vspl
12 may 2023

It pulls at one’s heart as we think of our own children in that position. No child should be in that position.

Me gusta

dgnamkiong
dgnamkiong
11 may 2023

Hopefully good times ahead

Me gusta
bottom of page